Connect with us

College Sports

April 17 College Roundup: D9 Alums Dworek, Mikesell, Miller Named to PSAC Winter Top 10

Slippery Rock's Bryan Dworek. Photo Slippery Rock athletics.

LOCK HAVEN, Pa. – The Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference announced its 2022-23 Winter Top 10 Award recipients, nominated and voted on by the sports information directors of the conference.

The PSAC Top 10 was initiated in the 1998-99 academic year and is awarded to those men and women who excel in both the classroom and in athletic competition.

Among the honorees are Slippery Rock’s Bryan Dworek (Brookville alum), IUP’s Paige Mikesell (Clearfield alum), and Lock Haven’s Ryan Miller (Bradford alum).

Other honorees were Eric Bartos (Mercyhurst), David Bocci (Clarion), Ann Carozza (West Chester), Divonne Franklin (California Pa.), Rachel Johnson (IUP), John Paul Kromka (Pitt-Johnstown), and Sam Pirosko (Gannon).

Dworek earned All-America honors in the long jump with an 11th place finish at the 2023 National Championships. He was the PSAC champion in the long jump (in a competition that included three of the top four jumpers in the Atlantic Region), placed fourth in the 200-meter final, and was part of the PSAC champion 4×400 meter relay team. He set a new Slippery Rock school record in the long jump with a leap of 7.46 meters, breaking the former record that had stood for 34 years. He is a seven-time All-PSAC finisher between long jump and sprinting events and has scored in the long jump at every PSAC meet he has participated in during his career. He is also a two-time All-Region honoree in that event. Academically, Dworek has been a PSAC Scholar-Athlete in every semesteer and was also a USTFCCCA All-Academic honoree.

Mikesell was a six-time All-American at the 2023 NCAA Championships (in the 200 IM, 100 and 200 Fly, 200 Free, and 200 and 400 medley relays.) She set a school record in both the 100 Fly (53.45) and 200 IM (2:00.82) during prelims at nationals. She defended her title in the 200 IM at the 2023 PSAC Championships and was named to the 2022-23 CSC Academic All-America Team. Mikesell becomes a four-time PSAC Winter Top 10 honoree and is a 20-time Division II All-American. She has won 14 conference titles in her career and was the national champion in the 200 freestyle at the 2021 NCAA Division II Championships.

IUP’s Paige Mikesell. Photo IUP athletics.

Miller was the PSAC Champion at 400 meters for the second consecutive season and was an All-Region Performer (400m) during the 2022-23 indoor season. Miller’s NCAA Division II provisional mark of 47.85 (school record) was the fastest time at 400 meters during the 2022-23 indoor campaign in the Atlantic Region. He also finished seventh at the PSAC Indoor Championships in the 200m. During the regular season he ran a school-record time of 47.85 and became the first LHU men’s sprinter in history to ever dip under the 48-second mark indoors.

Lock Haven’s Ryan Miller. Photo Lock Haven athletics.



Rocky Grove grad Kennedi Winslow fired a 5-hitter as La Roche beat Thiel, 3-1.

Winslow walked two and struck out four, allowing one earned run. Winslow also had a double and a run scored, while Karns City grad Garrah Milochik, Emma Bizay, and Ashlee Bair all drove in a run apiece.

Moniteau grad Abby Rottman was 1-for-3 for Thiel. Kayla Roddy had two hits for Thiel and also took the loss, allowing three earned runs on six hits in six innings, striking out one and walking one.


More in College Sports