Connect with us

Winter Sports

Cathedral Prep Wrestlers Dominate District 10 Class 3A Championships

ERIE, Pa. – Cathedral Prep dominated Thursday’s District 10 Class 3A individual wrestling championships, claiming seven district champions, with a total of 11 wrestlers moving on to the Northwest Regional in Altoona. 

The Ramblers finished with 203 team points, outdistancing second-place General McLane’s 167. 

The top two wrestlers (a true second place was determined) advanced. 

106: Prep’s Sam Staab received a bye into the finals, where he met McDowell’s Logan Sallot, who won his semifinal match with a 36-second pin over General McLane’s Christian Gillette. Staab got the best of Sallot in the finals with a hard-fought 9-7 decision. 

113: Prep’s Jacob VanDee won his third consecutive district crown with a first-period pin of GM’s Ben Watkins. Van Dee received a bye into the finals, while Watkins got a third-period pin over Meadville’s Caden Ream. 

120: Prep’s Ian Irvin, a sophomore, claimed his first D10 title with a hard-fought 6-5 decision over GM’s Ethan Brest. Irving got a bye to the final, while Brest earned a 9-3 decision over Shane Altman of Meadville. 

126: Rambler senior Philip Stark got a pair of third-period falls en route to the crown. He bested Alex Kinder of Meadville in the semis and Erie’s Alex Northup in the finals. Kinder defeated Northup in the true second-place match to advance. 

132: Kaemen Smith of Prep repeated as D10 champ with a pair of third-period falls over Kyle Cousins of Meadville in the semis and Meadville’s Westin Chess in the final. Chess beat Cousins in the true second-place match to advance. 

138: McDowell’s Logan Carrick got a 3-0 decision over Prep’s Elijah Hunt in the semis and pinned Meadville’s Brighton Anderson in the third period in the final to claim the D10 title. Hunt went on to beat Anderson in the true second-place match. 

145: GM’s Matt Leehan pinned Warren’s Donovan Fiscus in the semifinals and earned a tough 8-6 decision over Prep’s Steffan Lynch in the final. Lynch after earning a 7-1 decision in the semis, also moves on. 

152: Paniro Johnson of Prep rolled to his fourth-straight D10 title, earning first-period pins of Warren’s Nick Penucci and McDowell’s Artie Simmons. Simmons, who beat GM’s Ryan Dedrick via fall in the semis, also moves on. 

160: General McLane’s Jackson Spires won his third-straight D10 championship,, pinning McDowell’s Caleb Butterfield in the second period in the semis and getting a 5-2 decision over Prep’s Kelyn Blossey in the finals. Blossey went on to beat Butterfield in the true second-place match to advance. 

172: GM freshman Magnus Lloyd rolled to the title, getting tech falls over Warren’s Landon Douvlos and Prep’s Owen Shetler. Shetler, who beat McDowell’s Noah Bielak in the semis, also moves on. 

189: Meadville’s Griffin Buzzell repeated as a D10 champion, pinning Warren’s Luke Becker in the semis and outlasting GM’s James Laird in the finals, 7-6. Laird, who pinned McDowell’s Troy Petterson in the semis, also advances. 

215: Prep’s John Campbel, after pinning Warren’s Tristan Dolan in the semis, defeated Meadville’s Rhoan Woodrow in the finals, 11-7. Woodrow beat GM’s Wyatt Hall, 9-4 in the semis.

285: McDowell’s Mark Chambers, after getting a first-period win in the semifinals, edged GM’s Wilson Spires in the finals, 3-1. Spires beat Prep’s Mark Hudson via fall in the semifinals. 

TEAM: 1. Cathedral Prep 203; 2. General McLane 167; 3. McDowell 125.5; 4. Meadville 90; 5. Warren 20; 6. Erie 13


106: Sam Staab (Prep) dec. Logan Sallott (McDowell), 9-7

113: Jacob VanDee (Prep) pinned Ben Watkins (GM), 1:40

120: Ian Irvin (Prep) dec. Ethan Brest (GM), 6-5

126: Phillip Stark (Prep) pinned Aidan Northrup (Erie), 5:20

132: Kaeman Smith (Prep) pinned Westin Chess (Meadville), 3:53

138: Logan Carrick (McDowell) pinned Brighton Anderson (Meadville), 4:15

145: Matt Leehan (GM) dec. Steffan Lynch (Prep), 8-6 Sudden Victory

152: Paniro Johnson (Prep) pinned Artis Simmons (McDowell), 1:34

160: Jackson Spires (GM) dec. Kelyn Blossey (Prep), 5-2

172: Magnus Lloyd (GM) tech fall Owen Shelter (Prep), 15-0, 3:33

189: Griffin Buzzell (Meadville) dec. James Laird (GM), 7-6

215: John Campbell (Prep) dec. Rhoan Woodrow (Meadville), 11-7

285: Mark Chambers (McDowell) dec. Wilson Spires (GM), 3-1 Sudden Victory 


126: Alex Kinder (Meadville) dec. Aidan Northup (Erie), 8-2

132: Westin Chess (Meadville) dec. Kyle Cousins (GM), 9-3

138: Elijah Hunt (Prep) tech fall Brighton Anderson (Meadville), 22-5, 5:00

160: Kelyn Blossey (Prep) pinned Caleb Butterfield (McDowell), :50

More in Winter Sports