Connect with us

2021-22

2021-22 Player Profile: Courtney Saylor, Grove City Powered by Potter County Family Campground

D9and10Sports.com is highlighting returning high school student-athletes this summer. The year in school listed next to the athlete’s name is the year the athlete is entering this fall.

Full List of 2021 Player Profiles

Courtney Saylor – Senior – Grove City

Parents Names: Lori and Junior Saylor
Sports Played: Softball
Siblings: Chloe Saylor, 20 years old
Social Media Handles: Twitter: @cosaylor2022 Facebook: Courtney Saylor 2022 Recruit SB
2020-21 Highlights: Was leadoff batter batting .358 OBP .514 LEAD the team in stolen bases and runs scored
College Athletics plan if applicable: Have verbally committed to Glenville State College in WV (D2) and coach Sara Scoone.

Q&A With Courtney Saylor

D9and10Sports: How did you first get involved in sports and did you like it?
A: My family has always been a sports-oriented family, so I got into sports at a very young age playing many sports (soccer, volleyball, track, t-ball, then softball). Yes, I like how involved my life has been with sports because it has taught me how to stay motivated, and how to set goals and work hard to achieve them.

D9and10Sports: Who has been your biggest influence in life and why?
A: My father has been my biggest influence. When he was younger he played softball and is so knowledgeable of the game. Listening to his stories of playing (and winning) is one of my favorite things. Having him as a coach growing up has been so beneficial to me as a player.

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite high school sports memory?
A: My favorite high school sports memory was winning the District 10 championship in 2019 as the only starting freshman on the Varsity team. And also, getting to do it alongside my sister who was a senior.

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite social media platform and why?
A: TikTok because it’s just fun.

D9and10Sports: What would someone who is meeting you for the first time be surprised to find out about you?
A: I am an Advanced 2 dancer including ballet (pointe) with Dance Center studios. A lot of people are surprised because just see me as the competitive ball player diving in the dirt and it is such a polar opposite. And that I had ACL and meniscus surgery in 2020 and worked very hard to get back to 100%.

D9and10Sports: If there was one period in history you could go back to, what would it be and why?
A: I would love to go back to the D10 championship and play with my sister again and knowing we won be able to enjoy every minute- it just went by so fast.

D9and10Sports: What will you tell your kids someday about living through the COVID-19 pandemic?
A: Don’t take anything for granted. You don’t know how fast things can change. Never complain about the small stuff as it can be taken away and you are just left wanting it more than ever.

D9and10Sports: What is your ideal place to live? Country, City, Suburb and why?
A: My ideal place to live is in the country. I love the idea of having a lot of land and peace and quiet.

More in 2021-22