Connect with us

2021-22

2021-22 Player Profile: Abigail Tingley, Union City Powered by Potter County Family Campground

D9and10Sports.com is highlighting returning high school student-athletes this summer. The year in school listed next to the athlete’s name is the year the athlete is entering this fall.

Full List of 2021 Player Profiles

(Photo by Jeff Parkin)

Abigail Tingley – Union City – Senior

Parents Names: Amber and JT Tingley
Sports Played: Volleyball, Basketball, and Softball
Siblings: Alyssa Tingley, 14 years old
Social Media Handles: Instagram: tingleya18
2020-21 Highlights: Volleyball: Second Team Region 5 All-Star
Softball: Region 2 Pitcher of the Year, Region 2 All-Star First Team Pitcher, Erie Times News 2021 District 10 All-Star Team, D9and10sports.com District 10 Pitcher of the Year, USA Today NWPA Softball Player of the Year, PaHSSBCA First Team Class AA All State Pitcher
2021 Softball Stats: Pitching: 22-2 record, 2 perfect games, 12 shut outs, 197/15 K to BB ratio, 1.07 ERA, Hitting: .471 Batting Avg with 2 HR, .538 OBP

College Athletics plan if applicable: I plan on continuing my softball career in college, but I am not committed to a college yet.

Q&A With Abigail Tingley 

D9and10Sports: How did you first get involved in sports and did you like it?
A: When I was four years old I first started playing T-ball and continued playing Little League until I was sixteen years old. I have been and continue to play travel softball and played club volleyball. In middle school I participated in a basketball league.

D9and10Sports: Who has been your biggest influence in life and why?
A: My parents are a big influence in my life. They are always supportive and they inspire me to work my hardest and do my best.

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite high school sports memory?
A: One of my favorite high school sports memories is winning a ten-inning game against Laurel in the playoffs.

D9and10Sports: What is your favorite social media platform and why?
A: My favorite social media platform is Snapchat because it is an easy way to keep in touch with my friends and see pictures of them and their activities.

D9and10Sports: What would someone who is meeting you for the first time be surprised to find out about you?
A: A fun fact about me is that I drive a Jeep with a six-speed manual transmission.

D9and10Sports: If there was one period in history you could go back to, what would it be and why?
A: I would go back to the time during World War II (except the war part), when there was an all-female professional baseball league. I think that playing in the baseball league would be a cool experience and I’d like to see how different it was compared to softball now.

D9and10Sports: What will you tell your kids someday about living through the COVID-19 pandemic?
A: I would tell them to never take the opportunities or experiences that you are given for granted because things can unexpectedly change.

D9and10Sports: What is your ideal place to live? Country, City, Suburb and why?
A: I prefer to live in the country because I love the outdoors and how open the country is, however, I do love exploring the city and site seeing.

D9and10Sports: Is there anything you wish we would have asked you? If so, what is the answer?
A: What are you looking forward to during your Senior year? I am looking forward to playing high school sports with my younger sister, Alyssa, and all of the senior activities that I’ll get to do with my class.

More in 2021-22